Common College Crimes you should know about in Texas Part 1 (THC)
Updated: Jul 10, 2020
College is infamous for its reputation as the time young adults go out into the world for themselves and experiment with less than legal substances. Here’s part one of a handy guide for you, my fellow college students, to be aware of the criminal risks involved in experimentation.
THC, least commonly referred to by tetrahydrocannabinol, is the psychoactive ingredient in cannabis. Consumption of THC can take many forms, so here’s a comprehensive list of the varying legal penalties associated with each method.
TLDR? You can click this link to a chart regarding drug charges: defenddenton.com/marijuana-allegations
THC Pens, known as “Dab Pens” have become popular within recent years due to the rise of vapor products and cannabis legalization in other states. Many people consider them convenient due to their concealability, longevity, and lack of odor. In the state of Texas, this is a felony. A cart typically contains 1mL of concentrated oil which would translate to under 1 gram and lead to a State Jail felony from 180 days – 2 years. 1 gram to 4 grams is a 3rd degree felony with a penalty range from 2 – 10 years or a fine up to $10,000.
Cannabis Flower, colloquially known as “Bud”, is the traditional method of THC consumption. Possession charges in Texas vary on the weight of the bud possessed. Personal use amounts are typically a Class B misdemeanor ranging from 2 oz (56 grams) or less. Bulk buyers beware, your charge can be enhanced based upon the amount you possess with intent to distribute based on the amount alone.
Edibles, if you wish to bring out your inner foodie, have a distaste for the idea of inhaling smoke or vapor, or dislike the pungent odor of bud, you may have opted to eat your THC. Ignoring the dangers of eating more than one can handle, the legal consequences are far worse than your potential bad trip. Because the THC is diluted in whatever baked good or candy, you can be charged with the net weight of the edible to determine the amount, which greatly increases the penalty. The charge can even fall in the same category as THC concentrate which starts as a 3rd Degree felony (2-10 years or a fine up to $10,000).
Summary: Marijuana and THC concentrate, including: wax, dabs, or oil are all illegal in the state of Texas and can carry heavy penalties. Texas is one of the few states which charges THC concentrate as a felony. If you attend college in Texas or travel through Texas you should be aware of the laws regarding these substances.
The Law Office of Sarah Coco Morris has handled numerous cases regarding allegations of marijuana and THC concentrate possession and distribution. If you find yourself in similar trouble, call us for a consult at 469-665-9971.
Stay Safe, Jeff
Disclaimer: Nothing in these blogs/articles is or proports to be legal advice or establishes any kind of attorney client relationship with the reader. The Law Office of Sarah Coco Morris does not offer legal advice on social media or blog post platforms. Call an attorney in your County if you need a consult regarding your situation.
About Jeff: Jeff is a pre-law student at UNT, president of PAD, and legal assistant at the Law Office of Sarah Coco Morris